Just Do It

how

“Knowing how wonderful it feels to be comfortable in my own skin, having more energy,  managing anxiety and stress, feeling as if I’ve discovered the fountain of youth and never questioning if I look good in an outfit or for an event is fantastic motivation.”

 

As someone who is in the gym 5-6 days a week and has spent the last few years revamping and remodeling her body I’m often asked by others, “How do you do it?” It’s a flattering question but it’s one of those questions that I always have trouble answering because the short answer is, “Hard work.” I get up and I do it. It’s grueling, exhausting, painful but I know how great the reward is. Knowing how wonderful it feels to be comfortable in my own skin, having more energy,  managing anxiety and stress, feeling as if I’ve discovered the fountain of youth and never questioning if I look good in an outfit or for an event is fantastic motivation.

Of course I realize that people aren’t asking for a magic potion. It isn’t one simple question with a simple concise answer, it’s a number of questions wrapped neatly in one frustrated sigh, “How do you it?” What this overwhelmed sigh entails is:

“I’m terrible at portion control. How do you stick to eating healthy? How do you meal prep? Do you really never eat after 7pm? Do you really eat 5 meals a day? How do you track your calories?”

“I don’t have time to spend hours in the gym. How do you work out 5- 6 days a week? How do you fit in 2 workouts a day?”

“How do you wake up early?”

“How often do you lift? How much? Do you still train if you’re sore?”

“How do you give up sugar? How do you drink your coffee and tea black? Do I really have to stop salting my food?”

“Water is so boring. How do you stay hydrated?”

When I first started working out and taking my health and fitness seriously I didn’t really know what I was doing. I only knew that I wasn’t thrilled with the state of my body and I wanted to be healthy.  I needed to exert my body physically because I already exhausted myself mentally and that wasn’t bringing me to the place I wanted to be. The only concrete solution was to start moving my body and make better choices about what I ate. I had to get up and do something and try. 

 

d9fecb1f5b67d98a38872949adfc89ae

In the beginning I had no answers and minimal guidance. I went through basic trial and error. I read a lot of articles, spent a lot of time on Youtube Pinterest, ToneitUp.com and BodyBuilding.com for help, motivation and support. I succeeded and failed countless times. I got bored, I got tired, I got stressed, I got lazy, I got discouraged, and I got doubtful. I also gained strength, endurance, confidence  and a renewed belief in myself. When women ask me how I do it, I want to tell them the honest truth about the work it takes to achieve the results they see from me. I want to encourage them to be their best, healthiest, sexiest self and offer them the tools to love themselves and love their body.

“….because frankly, it’s not all gym selfies and sexy sweaty abs. It’s not always yoga on the beach and toned thighs in Nike Pro’s while casually food shopping at Whole Foods.”

,skin

As a writer it’s always awesome to use my words to give back and share my experiences with others. When I thought about the direction I wanted to take this blog and my website I knew I wanted to incorporate fitness with my other passions.  I knew I wanted to approach fitness from an honest, relatable perspective because frankly, it’s not all gym selfies and sexy sweaty abs. It’s not always yoga on the beach and toned thighs while casually food shopping at Whole Foods. Sometimes it’s sweaty abs, toned thighs, bags under your eyes and a torn hair tie in the middle of burpees. Often it looks like doing walking lunges to and from you car during lunch breaks at work, or arriving from lunch with a sweaty sheen and out of breath. Sometimes it’s  going to bed hungry only to wake up at 5am for fasted cardio in 30º weather.  It’s not always Instagram ready, but it’s always worth it. I know firsthand how hard it is and I want to share tips, my favorite products and insight into how to make it manageable and realistic for my audience and my gym friends.

This blog is still about fashion, art, music and personal writing but now I’m moving forward with a new, long overdue addition: health and fitness!

♡ Ditte Mia

Leave a Reply

